This project is read-only.

Entity Framework connection string exception

Jul 2, 2013 at 11:22 AM
Hi,
I have an issue and not sure how to resolve this (I am fairly new to MVC other than following a couple of tutorials elsewhere).

I have NOT attempted to create the database and am allowing Entity Framework to try to create the database for me. I am receiving an exception in the Global.asax.cs class around line 61 (approximated as I am not sure if anything will have been inserted into this class). The line causing the issue is the call to AreaRegistration.RegisterAllAreas() method.

The exception is as follows: System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException : {Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation }

The inner exception is as follows:

{"An error occurred while getting provider information from the database. This can be caused by Entity Framework using an incorrect connection string. Check the inner exceptions for details and ensure that the connection string is correct."}

and the Stack Trace is :

at System.Data.Entity.ModelConfiguration.Utilities.DbProviderServicesExtensions.GetProviderManifestTokenChecked(DbProviderServices providerServices, DbConnection connection)
at System.Data.Entity.ModelConfiguration.Utilities.DbConnectionExtensions.GetProviderInfo(DbConnection connection, DbProviderManifest& providerManifest)
at System.Data.Entity.DbModelBuilder.Build(DbConnection providerConnection)
at System.Data.Entity.Internal.LazyInternalContext.CreateModel(LazyInternalContext internalContext)
at System.Data.Entity.Internal.RetryLazy2.GetValue(TInput input)
at System.Data.Entity.Internal.LazyInternalContext.InitializeContext()
at System.Data.Entity.Internal.InternalContext.Initialize()
at System.Data.Entity.Internal.InternalContext.GetEntitySetAndBaseTypeForType(Type entityType)
at System.Data.Entity.Internal.Linq.InternalSet
1.Initialize()
at System.Data.Entity.Internal.Linq.InternalSet1.get_InternalContext()